Published On: Tue, Mar 6th, 2018

Sri Lanka bowl first; Vijay Shankar makes India debut

Share This

Toss:Sri Lanka chose to bowl v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bowl first on a slightly green-tinged surface at the R Premadasa Stadium, in the Nidahas Trophy opener against India. “Not worried about having to bat first,” was India captain Rohit Sharma’s response.

India have left out KL Rahul, but have included Vijay Shankar, who could be batting as low as No. 8. Left-arm spinning allrounder Axar Patel has also been left out; legspinner Yuzvendra Chahal, and offspinner Washington Sundar forming the spin contingent. India have two specialist wicketkeepers in Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik in the XI.

Sri Lanka has opted for the pace of Dushmantha Chameera and Nuwan Pradeep over the control of Suranga Lakmal on the pace-bowling front. In terms of slow bowlers, legspinning allrounder Jeevan Mendis is in support of offspinner Akila Dananjaya. Seam-bowling all rounders Thisara Perera and Dasun Shanaka are both in the XI.

Kusal Perera cannot find a place in the top order, however.

Sri Lanka: 1 Kusal Mendis, 2 Danushka Gunathilaka, 3 Upul Tharanga, 4 Dasun Shanaka, 5 Thisara Perera, 6 Dinesh Chandimal (capt & wk), 7 Jeevan Mendis, 8 Akila Dananjaya, 9 Amila Aponso, 10 Suranga Lakmal, 11 Dushmantha Chameera

India: 1 Rohit Sharma (capt), 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Suresh Raina, 4 Dinesh Karthik (wk), 5 Rishabh Pant 6 Deepak Hooda, 7 Vijay Shankar, 8 Washington Sundar 9 Yuzvendra Chahal, 10 Shardul Thakur, 11 Jaydev Unadkat

Source link

About the Author

Like us on Facebook