Published On: Wed, Apr 18th, 2018

Replay glitch might have cost Umesh Yadav his wicket

Share This
Tags





© BCCI

It might not have had much of a bearing on the result of the match, but the third umpire might have looked at the wrong replay when the on-field officials turned to him to check on a no-ball during the match between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Jasprit Bumrah is no stranger to bowling no-balls – his costliest one coming in last year’s Champions Trophy final – but he got away without scrutiny when he dismissed Umesh Yadav, the eighth Royal Challengers batsman to fall, on Tuesday. The on-field umpire immediately asked to see if he had overstepped. The replay, though, showed Umesh at the non-striker’s end, and the heel of Bumrah’s front foot landing well inside the crease. The commentators were surprised that it was even checked. “No need to go for that,” commentator Sunil Gavaskar said on air.

It went unnoticed that Umesh was in the picture at the non-striker’s end until Twitter user @ronak_169 brought it to ESPNcricinfo’s notice. While this was not significant to the result – Royal Challengers were 137 for 7, chasing 214, with only 13 balls left – it once again raises the possibility of this human error in more critical stages of the match.

Sidharth Monga is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo


©
ESPN Sports Media Ltd.






Source link

About the Author

Like us on Facebook
/