Published On: Mon, Apr 23rd, 2018

Daredevils bowl first with five changes; Gayle rested

Share This



Toss Delhi Daredevils chose to bowl v Kings XI Punjab
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Gautam Gambhir won the toss and elected to chase against a Kings XI Punjab line-up without the in-form Chris Gayle at Feroz Shah Kotla. Delhi Daredevils made as many as five changes to the side that was beaten two nights ago by Royal Challengers Bangalore.

They revamped their attack by handing an IPL debut to England quick Liam Plunkett , who had been signed as a replacement for the injured Kagiso Rabada. Madhya Pradesh seamer Avesh Khan, Australia seam-bowling allrounder Dan Christian, and legspinner Amit Mishra were also picked. They also handed an IPL debut to Prithvi Shaw, who led India to Under-19 World Cup glory earlier this year. This meant Jason Roy, Chris Morris, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem and Harshal Patel were all left out.

Kings XI, on the other hand, made a lone change with David Miller coming in because Gayle pulled up with a sore back. R Ashwin, the captain, confirmed Aaron Finch will move up to the top while Miller will fit into the middle order. Fast bowler Ankit Rajpoot retained his place ahead of the more experienced Mohit Sharma.

Kings XI are currently second on the points table with four wins in five games. A win tonight will help Kings XI displace Chennai Super Kings from the top.

Delhi Daredevils: 1 Gautam Gambhir (capt), 2 Shreyas Iyer, 3 Rishabh Pant (wk), 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Prithvi Shaw, 6 Dan Christian, 7 Rahul Tewatia, 8 Liam Plunkett, 9 Amit Mishra, 10 Avesh Khan, 11 Trent Boult

Kings XI Punjab: 1 KL Rahul (wk), 2 Aaron Finch, 3 Mayank Agarwal, 4 Karun Nair, 5 David Miller, 6 Yuvraj Singh, 7 R Ashwin, 8 Mujeeb ur Rahman, 9 Andrew Tye, 10 Barinder Sran, 11 Ankit Rajpoot

Deivarayan Muthu is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source link

About the Author

Like us on Facebook