Published On: Sat, May 5th, 2018

Daredevils bat, Bhuvneshwar returns for Sunrisers

Share This

Toss: Delhi Daredevils chose to bat v Sunrisers Hyderabad



Tait: Yusuf can be dangerous, but hasn’t done enough

Shreyas Iyer, the Delhi Daredevils captain, has chosen to bat first at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. His stated reason for doing so was the apparent dryness of the pitch, but his choice may also have been dictated by how good Sunrisers Hyderabad have been at defending totals: they have won their last three games after posting 118, 132 and 151.

Sunrisers’ only two losses of the season, moreover, have come while chasing relatively big targets: 194 against Kings XI Punjab and 183 against Chennai Super Kings. Daredevils have accordingly beefed up their batting, bringing in an extra batsman, Naman Ojha, for the left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem, and replaced opener Colin Munro with an allrounder in Daniel Christian to compensate.

Sunrisers made just the one change, bringing back Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who missed their last two games with a back injury, for Basil Thampi.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Manish Pandey, 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Yusuf Pathan, 7 Wriddhiman Saha (wk), 8 Rashid Khan, 9 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 10 Sandeep Sharma, 11 Siddarth Kaul

Delhi Daredevils: 1 Prithvi Shaw, 2 Naman Ojha, 3 Shreyas Iyer (capt), 4 Rishabh Pant (wk), 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Vijay Shankar, 7 Daniel Christian, 8 Liam Plunkett, 9 Amit Mishra, 10 Avesh Khan, 11 Trent Boult

Karthik Krishnaswamy is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source link

About the Author

Like us on Facebook