Published On: Thu, Mar 8th, 2018

Brian Vitori suspended from bowling for third time

Share This
Tags






Brian Vitori and Sikandar Raza rejoice at the fall of the final wicket © IDI/Getty

Zimbabwe’s left-arm seamer Brian Vitori has been reported for an illegal bowling action for a third time in two years, and suspended from bowling until he undergoes an assessment of his action.

Vitori was suspended from bowling for 12 months in December 2016 after tests revealed he flexed his elbow more than the accepted 15 degrees. The ICC cleared him to bowl again in January 2018 but four matches into resuming his international career, he has been pulled up again.

The umpires raised doubt over Vitori’s action during Zimbabwe’s game against Nepal in the World Cup Qualifier on Sunday. He was then filmed during the next game – a nail-biter against Afghanistan – on Tuesday, after which two members from the ICC’s panel of human movement specialists (Helen Bayne and Mark King) reviewed the footage and the penalty was subsequently handed out.

Vitori had played a defining role in that game, taking 2 for 32 in 9.3 overs, including taking the final wicket in the 50th over to seal a two-run victory. He will no longer be available to bowl for Zimbabwe until he volunteers himself for biomechanical testing again, and as a result he has been replaced in the Zimbabwe squad by left-arm seamer Richard Ngarava.

©
ESPN Sports Media Ltd.






Source link

About the Author

Like us on Facebook
/